Trip information of Everest Three High Pass Trek

Trip information of Everest three high pass Trek

Everest Three High Pass Trek is a challenging and exhilarating adventure in the Everest region of Nepal. It is a popular trek for seasoned hikers and adventure enthusiasts who want to explore the breathtaking landscapes, high-altitude passes, and iconic peaks of the Everest region. The trek usually takes around 17 to 21 days to complete, depending on the specific itinerary and acclimatization days.

Here is some general information about the Everest Three High Pass Trek:

High Passes:

  • Renjo La Pass (5,360 meters / 17,585 feet)
  • Cho La Pass (5,420 meters / 17,782 feet)
  • Kongma La Pass (5,535 meters / 18,159 feet)

Starting Point: The trek typically begins with a short flight from Kathmandu to Lukla, a small airstrip in the Everest region.

Route and Highlights:

  • The route varies depending on the specific trekking company and itinerary chosen. However, the trek often includes the following highlights:
  • Namche Bazaar: A vibrant Sherpa town and the gateway to the Everest region.
  • Tengboche Monastery: A significant Buddhist monastery with stunning views of Everest and surrounding peaks.
  • Dingboche and Lobuche: Picturesque Sherpa villages with stunning mountain scenery.
  • Everest Base Camp: The base camp of the world's highest peak, Mount Everest (8,848 meters / 29,029 feet).
  • Gokyo Lakes: A series of turquoise lakes nestled amidst the mountains.
  • Kalapatthar: A popular vantage point to witness sunrise views over Everest and neighboring peaks.

Accommodation and Food:

During the trek, tea houses and lodges are the primary accommodation options. These establishments provide basic amenities such as a bed, blankets, and meals. The food options may vary, but most lodges offer a variety of local and international dishes to refuel trekkers.

Altitude and Acclimatization:

The Everest Three High Pass Trek reaches high altitudes, and acclimatization is crucial to avoid altitude-related illnesses. Trekking itineraries typically include rest days in places like Namche Bazaar and Dingboche to help trekkers adjust to the elevation.


Trekkers need to obtain several permits to enter the Everest region. These include the TIMS, Sagarmatha National Park Permit and the Khumbu Rural Municipality Permit.

Physical Fitness and Experience:

The Everest Three High Pass Trek is considered a strenuous trek, and participants should have a good level of physical fitness and prior trekking experience at high altitudes.